Service Level Diagnostics | Resets HP LASERJET ENTERPRISE 500 COLOR

Engine test button
To verify that the product engine is functioning, print an engine test page. Use a small pointed object to depress the test-page switch located on the rear of the product. The test page should have a series of horizontal lines. The test page can use only Tray 2 as the paper source, so make sure that paper is loaded in Tray 2.

Figure 3-4 Engine-test button

Engine Test Button

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paper path test
This diagnostic test generates one or more test pages that you can use to isolate the cause of jams. 

To isolate a problem, specify which input tray to use, specify whether to use the duplex path, and specify the number of copies to print. Multiple copies can be printed to help isolate intermittent problems. The following options become available after you start the diagnostic feature:  
● Print Test Page. Run the paper-path test from the default settings: Tray 2, no duplex, and one
copy. To specify other settings, scroll down the menu and select the setting, and then scroll back
up and select Print Test Page to start the test.
● Source Tray. Select Tray 1, Tray 2, or the optional tray.
● Test Duplex Path. Enable or disable two-sided printing.

NOTE: Duplex models only.

● Number of Copies. Set the numbers of copies to be printed; the choices are 1,10, 50, 100, or 500.
1. Press the Home button.
2. Open the following menus:
● Administration
● Troubleshooting
● Diagnostic Tests
3. Press the Down arrow button to highlight Paper Path Test, and then press the OK button.
4. Select the paper-path test options for the test you want to run.


Product resets

Restore factory-set defaults
1. Press the Home button.
2. Open the following menus:
● Administration
● General Settings
● Restore Factory Settings
3. Press the Down arrow button to highlight the select type of reset from a list, and then press the
OK button.
4. Press the Down arrow button to highlight the Reset item, and then press the OK button.


Restore factory-set defaults values
● Calibration
◦ Persisted calibration engine data
◦ Engine color density data
◦ LaserJet engine calibration data
● General
◦ Display and sound settings for the control panel
◦ Localization settings (for example, clock format and date format)
◦ Error and warning log behavior
◦ Default media settings
◦ Sleep mode and delay setting
◦ Internal backup file maximum size
◦ Oxp installer solutions, tasks and pending tasks
◦ Http job defaults
◦ Clears the error, warning and info logs
◦ Supported media types
◦ Resets JetLink connected external devices

● Print
◦ Print default job, stored job and quick set settings
◦ Some print job usage data
◦ Print system configuration settings
● General Security
◦ Default Authentication agent
◦ Authentication agents
◦ Policy agents
◦ Color access control


Product cold reset
Cold reset using the Preboot menu
1. Turn the product on.
2. Press the Stop button when the Ready, Data, and Attention LEDs are illuminated solid.
3. Use the Down arrow button to highlight Administrator, and then press the OK button.
4. Scroll to the Startup Options item, and then press the OK button.
5. Scroll to the Cold Reset item, and then press the OK button.
6. Press the back arrow button twice to highlight Continue, and then press the OK button.

NOTE: The product will initialize.


Clean Disk and Partial Clean functions
Active and repository firmware locations
The firmware bundle now consists of multiple parts. The main components are the Windows CE Operating System and the printer/peripheral firmware files.

There are two locations/partitions on the hard drive where the firmware components are stored:

● The Active – where the Operating System and firmware currently are executing
● The Repository – the recovery location
If the Active location is damaged, or a Partial Clean was performed, the product automatically copies over the OS and firmware files from the Repository location and the product recovers.

If both the Active and Repository locations are damaged, or a Clean Disk was performed, then both locations are gone and the error message 99.09.67 appears on the control-panel display. The user must upload the firmware to the product in order for it to function again.

CAUTION: The Clean Disk option performs a disk initialization for the entire disk. The operating system, firmware files, and third party files (among other files) will be completely lost. HP does not
recommend this action.


Partial Clean
The Partial Clean option erases all partitions and data on the disk drive, except for the firmware repository where a backup copy of the firmware file is stored. This allows the disk drive to be
reformatted without having to download a firmware upgrade file to return the product to a bootable state.

Characteristics of a Partial Clean
● Customer-defined settings, third-party solutions, firmware files, and the operating system are deleted.
● Rebooting the product restores the firmware files from the Repository location, but does not restore any customer-defined settings.
● For previous HP products, a Hard Disk Initialization is similar to executing the Partial Clean function for this product.

CAUTION: HP recommends backing-up product configuration data before executing a Partial Clean if you need to retain customer-defined settings. See the Backup/Restore item in the Device


Maintenance menu.
Reasons for performing Partial Clean
● The product continually boots up in an error state.

NOTE: Try clearing the error prior to executing a Partial Clean.

● The product will not respond to commands from the control panel.
● Executing the Partial Clean function is helpful for troubleshooting hard disk problems.
● To reset the product by deleting all solutions and customer-defined settings.
● The product default settings are not properly working.

Execute a Partial Clean
1. Turn the product on.
2. When the Ready, Data, and Attention LEDs are illuminated solid, press the Stop button.
3. Press the Down arrow button to highlight Administration, and then press the OK button.
4. Press the Down arrow button to highlight Partial Clean, and then press the OK button.
5. Press the OK button again.
6. Press the back arrow button to highlight Continue, and then press the OK button.

NOTE: The product initializes.


Clean Disk
The Clean Disk option erases the entire disk drive.

CAUTION: After executing a Clean Disk option, the product is not bootable.


Characteristics of a Partial Clean
● Customer-defined settings, third-party solutions, firmware files, and the operating system are deleted.

NOTE: Rebooting the product does not restore the firmware files.

● Rebooting the product restores the firmware files from the Repository location, but does not restore any customer-defined settings.
● After executing the Clean Disk function, the message 99.09.67 displays on the control panel.
● After executing the Clean Disk function, the product firmware must be reloaded.

CAUTION: HP recommends that you do not use the Clean Disk option unless an error occurs and the solution in the product service manual recommends this solution. After executing the Clean Disk
function, the product is unusable. 
HP recommends backing-up product configuration data before executing a Clean Disk if you need to retain customer-defined settings. See the Backup/Restore item in the Device Maintenance menu.


Reasons for performing Clean Disk
● The product continually boots up in an error state.
NOTE: Try clearing the error prior to executing a Clean Disk.
● The product will not respond to commands from the control panel.
● Executing the Clean Disk function is helpful for troubleshooting hard disk problems.
● To reset the product by deleting all solutions and customer-defined settings.


Execute a Clean Disk
1. Turn the product on.
2. When the Ready, Data, and Attention LEDs are illuminated solid, press the Stop button.
3. Press the Down arrow button to highlight Administration, and then press the OK button.
4. Press the Down arrow button to highlight Clean Disk, and then press the OK button.
5. Press the OK button again.

NOTE: When the Clean Disk operation is complete, you will need to reload the product firmware.